Default Permissions Options

To set the basic default permissions used when new categories are created go to Components > JCal Pro® > Options (icon at top right).

The  permission settings for each Joomla user group are set here, in many cases the default permissions will suffice. The default permissions may be too strict, it will not let registered users create new events for example. It is generally a good idea to have the default permissions set to be strict, so that you can override the permissions by category. If default permissions are stricter, there is less chance of accidentally creating calendar events that are ediyable by users.

Note that this affects newly created categories only, it will not change the permissions of existing categories. You can use the Batch Process in the Event Categories setup to update permissions for existing categories.

These are permissions of what users can do by default, not what they can see. Defining what categories of events users can see is done by setting the appropriate Access Level in Event Categories

  • Confige - Select whether the users in the group are able to access the Options setting of the component (the are where these defaulkt permissions are also found).
  • Access Administration Interface - Select whether users in this group are able to access the JCal Pro® Administration Panel (Selecting Components - JCal Pro® in the Joomla Administrator)
  • Create - Select whether users in this group are able to create new events
  • Create Private - Select whether users in this group are able to create new private events
  • Delete- Select whether users in this group are able to delete existing events
  • Edit- Select whether users in this group are able to change existing events
  • Edit State- Select whether users in this group are able to change the publishing state (published/unpublished) for events
  • Edit Own - Select whether users in this group are able to change their own existing events
  • Moderate - Set the whether users in this group are able to moderate events

jcal3 admin options permissions

1. If you change the setting, it will apply to this and all child groups, components and content. Note that:

  • Inherited means that the permissions from the parent group will be used.
  • Denied means that no matter what the parent group's setting is, the group being edited cannot take this action.
  • Allowed means that the group being edited will be able to take this action (but if this is in conflict with the parent group it will have no impact; a conflict will be indicated by Not Allowed (Locked) under Calculated Settings).
  • Not Set is used only for the Public group in global configuration. The Public group is the parent of all other groups. If a permission is not set, it is treated as deny but can be changed for child groups, components, categories and items.

2. If you select a new setting, click Save to refresh the calculated settings.

Default permissions used for all content in this component.

  • Manage the permission settings for the user groups below. See notes at the bottom.

 
 

Get the latest updates on our extensions